That Time We Almost Went to An Indian Wedding 

I have been doing a lot of reading on this trip. During our long bus rides and flights, I have found books that interest me to keep me busy. I’ve read everything from mystery to romance novels, and from historical fiction to non-fiction. None of these were as meaningful and relevant to my life than Sarah MacDonald’s Holy Cow, a story about her journey throughout India and the paths she crossed to find herself. 

I am not attempting to be dramatic by saying I have “found myself” here, but I can honestly say that I have figured out a lot about myself just by being in this wonderful country. Sarah exposes herself to all of the apparent religions in India before she comes to the conclusion that she finds strength in various parts of each one, so she realizes that she doesn’t have to choose. Her experience in India is very similar to mine when she refers to the chaotic driving in Delhi or the Christian signs everywhere in Chennai, and especially when she mentions the men traveling in packs here-it’s absurd! Sarah gets the India experience from the point of view of a Westerner, and it was fun to relive each city we have visited through an author’s eyes. 

  
I had the chance to finish my book in a coffee shop on our free day this past Sunday. Ruth, Kristina and I boarded a bus at 8:30 AM that went nine stops before reaching Haus Kaus Village, our destination for the day. After finding a park that we decided to sit in for a while, we eventually found the village that was not too far away. Between a mix of hipster and modern Asian, the village was a combination of funky cafes, art galleries and eco-friendly shops. We spent some time reading, shopping and eating our PB&Bs (peanut butter and banana sandwiches) that we had packed this morning. At the end of the day before we started back home, we decided to go to the rooftop bar we had spotted all day. We ended up meeting a guy from New York who was in Delhi for a wedding. To make a long story short, he invited us. I started dreaming out with excitement, but it didn’t work out, it’s still pretty cool that we were invited to an Indian wedding though. 

  
Monday had a slow start (not until 1 PM), so I had a leisurely morning spent running in the park and beginning a new book. This one is about people stuck in the Indian Embassy in America after an earthquake- should be a good one. We went to the World Bank and learned about their programs and ability to finance projects at local levels via the government. 

Tuesday was more site visits, but this time with an NGO that is a school for children living in the slums nearby. We visited classrooms where the children sang nursery rhymes or recited words in English flush for us. In return, we sang The Hokey Pokey which was a crowd favorite. What really impressed me was their program for special needs children. They serve over 70 kids with disabilities and although they are in the same location, classes are separated and different focus is placed on these children. I even got to play ball with some of the boys during recess. Like the slum we visited in Pune, these children are so happy and genuinely excited to learn and to go to school. And they are smart- really smart. Five year olds were having good conversations with us, and their first languages are Hindi! I will absolutely bring back with me the spirit of these kids and their passion for learning, and I will remember it when I don’t want to get out of bed for class one day in the spring. 

   
 After a delicious lunch at Kahn Market, a high-end shopping area close to Lodi Gardens, we visited the National Gallery of Modern Art. The four-storied building went on for miles it felt like, and the art perfectly portrayed the transition that art went through once foreign artists came to India. With a wide range of modern art, however you define it, I was thoroughly entertained throughout my time there and could have stayed longer. 

  
With Thanksgiving coming up, there is so much to be thankful for. Although I will miss our family traditions at home, I can’t wait to celebrate with this group in Incredible India. 

Standard

Leave a comment